Heartless ||Book review

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Fantasy,Romance ,YA

Pages: 453 pages 

Source: Personal

Format: EBook

Publication: November 8 2016.

Rating :📕📕📕📕📕

Synopsis (from Good reads): Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried king,but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker ,she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries.

But for her mother,such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen .

At a royal ball where Catch is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal ,she meets handsome and mysterious Jest.

For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents,she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic,madness and monsters,fate has other plans.

Quotes

“Impossible is your specialty” – Catherine

“Sometimes your heart is the only thing worth listening to” – Catherine

Review

This is my first Marissa Meyer read ☺,with the others being on my tbr list, oh well I will read them all.And I can tell you I loved every bit of heartless

Onto the review ,first off I advise you stock your cupboards before reading this book because you will get hungry from all the delectable treats mentioned in the book ,I came this close to eating my phone😪…Oh well the only thing I think Catherine succeeded in doing was awakening my sweet tooth.

Plot: I loved the plot of this book ,so well developed and for the retelling of Alice in wonderland is great ,proving that evil isn’t born but made and everyone be he hero or villian has a story.

Characters: The main characters were also great especially our main character Catherine ( who left me drooling with her treats ,longing to give her a slap sometimes ) but overall she was great ,likewise the other characters who played wonderful roles to this book.

Themes: They were so many lessons to be learnt from Heartless  such as :

  • The impossible is possible not only for Jest but all of us.
  • Listen to your heart ,not your head or people’s opinion,the heart knows what it wants 

Thank you once again Marissa for this great book,really look forward to reading more great works from her and I recommend this book to anyone who is in the mood for humor and retellings of classics.
About the Author

Marissa Meyer is the New York times best selling author of the Lunar Chronicles ,she lives in Tacoma,Washington, with her husband and three demanding cats.She’s a fan of most things Geeky (sailor, moon,firefly, any occasion that requires a costume ) and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child

Have you read heartless, how was it for you,if you’ve reviewed leave your links below so I may give it a read 

Yoursincerely_d

12 comments

  1. Sounds really interesting, added to my MASSIVE to be read list! And I’ve only just started to listen to my heart over my head about a few things and am anxious about how they are going to work out but I have to try.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, there’s someone from my past I don’t talk to anymore that I’ve wanted to work out our previous issues for a 3-4 years now and done nothing about it but something changed in November. In November it turned out we had a mutual friend on FB and commented on the same status without realising. She then blocked me a total of 3 times and a total of 2 unblocks which made me think. She had kept my old FB blocked for YEARS so I wondered why she’d done this and I realised she may have read a blog post that was recent at that time on my blog where I mentioned her and how I made a mistake with her. If that’s the case, she may have been giving me a chance to message her but given the previous issues I didn’t feel FB was the best way to contact her. Now, I have no direct contact method but I am on good terms with one of her close friends so I plan to ask him if he can give me her email address or at least pass a letter on. When she blocked & unblocked me on FB I cried and it hurt because all I wanted to do was message her. I made a decision to try and contact her while drunk and I am sticking to it haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a good decision, I totally relate with you on this as it happened to me not too long ago
        Sorry about the late reply…network has been acting up for a long time just had it fixed
        Hope you go through with your plans.
        Have a good day

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

